BC Historical Federation – 2010 Book Prizes

This year’s British Columbia Historical Federation’s Annual Historical Writing Competition winners were announced at the Federation’s conference in Powell River in May, 2011.

The winner of the 2010 Lieutenant-Governor’s Medal for Historical Writing was Sylvia Olsen for her book, Working with Wool: a Coast Salish Legacy and the Cowichan Sweater.

The other winners were:

Second Place: Dan Savard, Images from the Likeness House.
Third Place: Dorothy Faulkner, Elaine Park and Cathy Jenks, Women of Pender Harbour: Their Voices, Their History.

Honourable Mentions:
Alan Twigg, The Essentials: 150 Great BC Books & Authors.
Robert Budd, Voices of British Columbia: Stories from Our Frontier.
Jane Stevenson, The Railroader’s Wife: Letters from the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway.

For more about the British Columbia Historical Federation (BCHF) and its annual Awards for the writing of British Columbia history, see the Federations’ website, BCHistory.ca.

Leave a Reply